WA Business Leader of the Year

The Business Leader of the Year Award recognises a leader who has made an outstanding contribution to business in Western Australia in recent times.

How the winner is chosen:

An eminent panel is selected to consider the most outstanding WA business leaders. The panel nominate, shortlist and deliberate on candidates before making a final decision.

The winner will be recognised by his/her peers as an outstanding leader in the business community and will be able to demonstrate excellence in one or more of the following areas:

The recipient of the WA Business Leader of the Year Award must:

Past Winners


Mr Rob Scott
Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Wesfarmers


Mrs Gina Rinehart AO
Executive Chairman of the Hancock Prospecting Group


Kerry Stokes AC
Chairman of Seven Group Holdings (SGH) 


Bill Beament
Former Executive Chair, Northern Star Resources  


Chris Ellison 
Managing Director, Mineral Resources

Sue Murphy 
Former Chief Executive Officer, Water Corporation 

I was absolutely stunned to win the 2019 AIM Pinnacle Award as the calibre of previous winners and others in the room was simply outstanding.

I feel humbled and delighted.I have donated my prize to the Foundation of the Fremantle Dockers Football Club to assist and grow participation in sport for women and those in remote parts of WA.

We are lucky to live and work in a state with so much potential so it is up to each of us to ensure we can grow our economy and our future leaders to deliver on that promise. 


Adrian Fini OAM
Director, FJM Property


Nev Power
Chairman, Perth Airport Pty Ltd and Foundation for the WA Museum


Stan Perron AM
Founder, Perron Group


Andrew Forrest AO
Founder, Fortescue Metals Group


Richard Goyder AO
Chief Executive Officer, Wesfarmers